How-to Write Erotica – The Light, a key element | Writing Tip |

how-to-write-classy-erotica

How to Write Erotica

Have you ever watched the Ken Burns jazz documentary? In it, Wynton Marsalis talks about how some musicians have “the light.” When they play you play. It’s like the art is ensconced in fun and joy. That, according to him, is the secret quality of success. I don’t want to write great literature with erotica. I just want to bump into the light every once in a while. When I read two books by Connie Cliff I felt like she had the light shining through the shades into a dark room. Maybe that’s why I like them so completely. See my two dicks up review here 

What can an erotica author learn from 1920s jazz?

Everything. This is one of the great American art forms. It captures the soul of America. Listen to the clip below and hear how Louis Armstrong just keeps riffing on the same themes but slightly changing them. He’s enjoying himself. Thus, I’m enjoying myself listening. The great stories that I’ve read this month all do that. Bella Swann, Michael Dalton, Christina Harding, Connie Cliff, Emme Hor all have a little fun with you while they are writing. That means you will have a little fun. I know there are way more authors that share this joy through their writing, but I’m just noting the few I read in the last couple of weeks.

Check out “the light” coming out of Louis’ trumpet.

 

When figuring out how to write, you need to find that part that really turns you on. If you’re writing erotica, it’s probably a fetish, or a kind of lover. Find that element and then play around with it until you express the thing that makes it so hot for you.

Two Dicks Up for Tristan’s Secret Life | Moctezuma Johnson reviews Connie Cliff

Tristan’s Secret Life (Billionaire Taboo Erotica) by Connie Cliff is a very well ttristans-secret-life-review-by-moctezuma-johnsonhought out plot that links Tristan’s home life through a delicious crush on his step-sister that leads him into the world of attack fantasy. The writing is very clear in each section. The book jumps around in time to weave Tristan’s past into his present expertly. I can see why this is ranked as a best-seller in Amazon’s Lesbian Erotica. There are three very hot sex scenes, all with some taboos surrounding them. One sex scene is a girl on girl scene that seems to be an ultra-popular topic with many readers.

Personally, I would have liked the sex scenes and the dialogue to be a little rougher, but if you’re reading on my site then you already know that that’s my fetish. I want guys calling girls whores and stuffing their throats with cock but that kind of erotic porn isn’t for everyone. I would imagine most readers will find the writing in Tristan’s Secret Life professional and the level of kink to be just about perfect. I give this 4.5 stars (losing the .5 due to lack of roughness, especially in the rape fantasy, and due to a mediocre cover, which I thinexcellent-cover-moctezuma-johnson-reviews-conne-cliffk under-performs the story). I’m including another Connie Cliff cover that I find scrumptious (there’s nothing like a big, juicy booty!)

The story is really solid, filled with sensory detail that will get your motor running. Connie can really write. She excels in telling back-story that enriches the characterizations so that there is a real heat between the characters. When we get to the juicy parts I’m all ready to climax. I recommend this to all erotica readers, regardless of your kink.

 

A short email interview with Connie:

Since reviewing this book I’ve come to correspond with Connie a little bit by email and thought you might like to know a little more about her

You can find her on twitter or amazon.
MJ: Tell me your story.

Connie Cliff: I have a professional type job during the day and need to keep much of my behind the scenes persona incognito. That said, i can probably share my story, in random tidbits, if you don’t mind. I learned how to read when I was two, according to my mother. Since then, the love of reading was firmly established, and on average I read 50-80 books a month. All genres. Faves are thrillers and sci-fi. Erotica when my partner is away. It serves a certain purpose :-).

Meet the ultra-cute Connie Cliff

I never thought I would be a writer. I grew up in a modest low income household and my dream was always to make sure to choose a job that made money. Well, that dream has become true, but, alas, money does not bring happiness. Which is why I decided to start writing. I wrote a couple of textbooks as a post-doc, plus my thesis. That was my writing experience. When I decided to try my hand at this new endeavor, I read Stephen King’s On writing and Haruki Murakami’s What I Talk About When I talk About Running. And then I was off…

 

I believe in the postulate of Write What You Know, but I also love exploring and researching new topics. Although some of the experiences I described in my books so far are based on real life, many are not. For instance, I’m a woman, so I obviously would not know what it’s like to have MM sex. But I try to imagine it and feel it, then research it, then write about it. I’ve only written about it once, and my gay BFF approved.

 

MJ: That’s awesome! The seal of approval from the gay BFF. What else do you need? What else about you, Connie?

 

CC: I speak five languages. And English is actually my third language.

 

I love to travel. My favorite city destination is Buenos Aires. In fact, we now go every year, we love it so much. My fave beach destination is Turks and Caicos. Google Earth Sapodilla Bay Beach. The. Best. Beach. Ever. Trust. My fave non-city non-beach destination is Madagascar. Love me some lemurs.

 

I’m thinking of starting to train for a marathon again. My third. I have to, because my favorite food group is dessert.

 

Ok, I probably bored your readers by now. But hopefully it gives them and idea of what I am as a person and as a writer.

 

MJ: I really doubt you bored any readers. You certainly didn’t bore me. I love meeting the person behind the books. Want to leave our readers with a final thought?

 

CC: “If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.” Haruki Murakami. Time to open up your minds, readers. Let’s bring literary erotica mainstream!
 you may also like:

You may enjoy these other book reviews:

Moctezuma Johnson's Chronicles of Humiliation Backfired

Moctezuma Johnson’s Chronicles of Humiliation Backfired

She's Behind Her Man and All In Her Man!

She’s Behind Her Man and All In Her Man!

I always love a little dubious consent

I always love a little dubious consent

Moctezuma Johnson Reviews Christina Harding's Underneath the Gargoyles

Learn how to make gargoyles purr

The Wizard's Daughters are pretty delectable.

The Wizard’s Daughters are pretty delectable.

Moctezuma’s Patent Pending Erotica Rating System

moctezuma-johnson-smutpunk

I will be reviewing erotica periodically on this site with no timetable, schedule or organization of any sort that I’m aware of except the internal glue that is that I like to read and often have thoughts on what I read and have this site and may as well share my thoughts. Please contact me if you’d like me to review your work. I have reviewed books on my blog but my first book review on this website is for Christina Harding’s Underneath the Gargoyles, which I gave two dicks up.

 

MJ’s Patent Pending Rating System:One-and-a-half-smutpunk-Dicks-Up-Erotica-Rating-System-BY_MJ-2

  • Two Dicks Up
  • One Dick Up
  • No Dick Up No Flaccid Dick, either
  • One Flaccid Dick
  • Two Flaccid Dick
  • And shriveled balls, to boot

 

This is my sophomoric erotica rating system (which may be borrowed or stolen as you please — a backlink would be nice, though). I’ll be applying this when I remember, which probably won’t be too often. Hope you like.

Hotel Sex: Meet Jynx (from the Hotel Bukkake Thriller)

hotel-sex-juicy-jynx

Hotel Sex: There’s something so cheap and sexy about it!

Jynx is a little sexpot. She is curvy—with big tits like bulbous eggplants held by sports bras and a juicy ass that smacks you back wSmutpunk Bukkake Serieshen smacked because it’s so tight—and a crazy conniving bitch using cunt as a weapon and cum as a salve. Her arch enemy is Jenny. Her greatest love story is Moctezuma Johnson.

Read the Chronicles of a Humiliation Series to learn more about her.

*

Read an excerpt from the Hotel Party (part 1 of the series)

Read a poem about Jenny

Crawling the Cobwebs with Christina Harding | Rating: Two Dicks Up

Free Sex Literary Porn

This is a review/commentary with partial spoilers (but if you’re like me you don’t read Erotica only for the plot, so who cares?)

Wow! It’s like this story was lurking on the roof the whole time but I never noticed. I mean, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve looked up at gargoyles up there on a building and not paid them much mind. Well, turns out these gargoyles are attention whores and if a hot face fucking catholic schoolgirl fucks her boyfriend in front of them, they’ll be damned if they don’t get a piece of ass for themselves. This is the basic premise of Underneath the Gargoyles, the seminal work of the deep, wet mind of Christina Harding (find her on twitter @TinaErotica where she is an avid re-tweeter and follower-back).

Great book for fans of Catholic Girls, Priests, Gargoyles, and Supernatural Sex

If you like Catholic School Girls getting stuffed with big hard marble and want to know how to make a gargoyle purr then you need to read this exquisitely naughty and creative novelette. There is a bit of masturbation, some vanilla boyfriend/girlfriend sex, some young girl/older man sex, and then the fantastic supernatural creature sex. If you like any of these themes, then you’re in for a treat. Christina writes each scene well and the short novel builds toward its grand climax. Without ruining the ending for you, it seems that to make a gargoyle purr like a little kitty you need to lick balls, stretch around its marble cock, and take its cum-hosing.

The Plot

Moctezuma Johnson Reviews Christina Harding's Underneath the Gargoyles

Learn how to make a litter of gargoyles purr

A pretty choir girl named Trisha is out to find herself some sexual trouble from the get go. She’s rubbing herself in a church pew, then taking her boyfriend outside, then being baptized by the priest (but not with holy water), and then the piece de resistance: the gargoyles, I’m not going to spoil this part for you. I thought this was the climax. The novelette gets really hot, sticky, and sweaty while crawling around in the cobwebs of your mind. It’s got a sensual foundation that is really essential to make the gargoyle scene work. While reading I could feel the warmth of a gargoyle tongue and the hardness of its mammoth marble cock. Don’t let me tell you, have a look for yourself.

 

Learn More at Amazon

*

Visit Christina at her very useful blog

Some Popular Links:

You may enjoy these other book reviews:

She's Behind Her Man and All In Her Man!

She’s Behind Her Man and All In Her Man!

I always love a little dubious consent

I always love a little dubious consent

Moctezuma Johnson Reviews Christina Harding's Underneath the Gargoyles

Learn how to make gargoyles purr

The Wizard's Daughters are pretty delectable.

The Wizard’s Daughters are pretty delectable.